Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Teatro Pinas : Tom Roriguez headlines the return of ‘Ibarra: Isang Dulang Pangkonsierto’

Teatro Pinas : Tom Roriguez headlines the return of ‘Ibarra: Isang Dulang Pangkonsierto’

How do you feel about this story?


After Tanghalang Una Obra’s successful maiden production of the all-Filipino original musical ‘Ibarra’ last year,; comes the staging of ‘Ibarra: Isang Dulang Pangkonsierto’ with Tom Rodriguez in the lead.

Rodriguez, is no foreign to stage productions as he did ‘Aladdin’ via Atlantis Theatrical Entertainment Group in 2012 and had a guest appearance as Teen Angel in 9 Works Theatrical’s ‘Grease’ in 2013. He also starred with Kayla Rivera in an intimate play with Anton Juan, commissioned by Philippine Prudential Life Insurance Co. Inc., for its 50th anniversary in 2013.

On February 27, Rodriguez, together with his manager Popoy Caritativo, signed the contract with Tanghalang Una Obra’s artistic director Frannie Zamora and company manager Mary Anne Gomez, at Wheatberry Bakery and Cafe in Quezon City.

“I’m glad they offered me this role. I’ve been yearning to go back into theater at napagbigyan uli,” he shared with Nelson Canlas of GMA-7’s 24 Oras. Zamora, also the director of the show, revealed their decisoon to have the Kapuso actor-singer as the new Ibarra in this concert edition, “He’s one of the best actors we have in this industy. Si Tom kasi may experience na sa theater.”

Previously, the musical production, which starred Kapamilya’s Ultimate Heartthrob Piolo Pascaul, earned several awards at 36th Aliw Awards: Best Musical, Best Ensemble in a Musical, Myramae Meneses as Best Lead Actress in a Musical, Piolo Pascual as Best Lead Actor in a Musical, Jon Joven Uy as Best Featured Actor in a Musical, Joed Balsamo as Best Musical Director and Best Composer, Frannie Zamora as Best Director in a Musical, and JD Tena as Best Child Actor in a Musical.

‘Ibarra: isang Dulang Pangkonsierto’ will openb in June and will be toured in various parts of the country.


All photos are photograph by Erickson Dela Cruz.