Saturday, July 20, 2024

Star-Studded 72nd FAMAS Awards: Celebrating the Best in Philippine Cinema


Star-Studded 72nd FAMAS Awards: Celebrating the Best in Philippine Cinema


How do you feel about this story?


The stars aligned at the 72nd Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) awards held at the prestigious Manila Hotel on Sunday, May 26. Kathryn Bernardo, Piolo Pascual, and Alfred Vargas emerged as the evening’s top honorees, alongside the acclaimed film “Mallari,” directed by Roderick Cabrido.

In a historic moment, Kathryn Bernardo clinched her first FAMAS Best Actress award for her captivating performance in the film “A Very Good Girl.” Sharing the spotlight, Piolo Pascual and Alfred Vargas were tied for the Best Actor accolade, recognized for their remarkable portrayals in “Mallari” and “Pieta,” respectively.

“Mallari” emerged as the night’s biggest winner, securing a total of seven awards, including the coveted Best Picture accolade. The film, helmed by Roderick Cabrido, captivated audiences and critics alike with its compelling narrative and exceptional craftsmanship.

Here is the complete list of winners at the 72nd FAMAS Awards:

  • Best Picture: “Mallari”
  • Best Actor: Piolo Pascual (“Mallari”) and Alfred Vargas (“Pieta”)
  • Best Actress: Kathryn Bernardo (“A Very Good Girl”)
  • Best Director: Louie Ignacio (“Papa Mascot”)
  • Best Supporting Actor: LA Santos (“In His Mother’s Eyes”)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Gloria Diaz (“Mallari”)
  • Best Child Actor: Euwenn Mikael Aleta (“Firefly”)
  • Best Child Actress: Elia Ilano (“Ghost Tales”)
  • Best Screenplay: Enrico Santos (“Mallari”)
  • Best Editing: Benjamin Gonzales Tolentino (“Iti Mapukpukaw”)
  • Best Cinematography: Carlo Mendoza (“Gomburza”)
  • Best Production Design: Marielle Hizon (“Mallari”)
  • Best Musical Score: Teresa Barrozo (“Iti Mapukpukaw”)
  • Best Visual Effects: “Mallari”
  • Best Sound: “Rewind”
  • Best Original Song: “Finggah Lickin’” (“Becky And Badette”)
  • Circle of Excellence Award: Vilma Santos, Nora Aunor, Christopher de Leon
  • Special Citation Award: Gloria Romero
  • Best Short Film: “Huling Sayaw ni Erlinda”
  • Best Documentary: “Maria”

Additionally, the FAMAS Bida sa Takilya awards were presented to Marian Rivera and Dingdong Dantes for their exceptional contributions to Philippine cinema. The prestigious FAMAS Circle of Excellence was bestowed upon Vilma Santos and Christopher de Leon for their illustrious careers.

The 72nd FAMAS Awards celebrated the outstanding achievements of Filipino talent in the film industry, highlighting the creativity, passion, and dedication that continue to define Philippine cinema.

Photo credit:,,,